Temple Athena Nike

Temple d'Athéna Nikè | Acropole d'Athènes

Le temple d'Athéna Nikè, construit entièrement en marbre pentélique entre 427 et 421 avant J.-C., se dresse sur une plate-forme de pierre de 6 mètres de haut qui s'étend depuis l'angle sud-ouest de l'Acropole. Le temple a été la première structure ionique à être construite sur l'Acropole. Il est dédié à Nikè, une forme d'Athéna, qui est considérée comme la déesse de la Victoire dans la mythologie grecque.

Qu'est-ce que le temple d'Athéna Nikè ?

temple athena nike
Réservez vos billets pour l'Acropole d'Athènes et le Temple d'Athéna Nikè.
L'entrée au temple d'Athéna Nikè est comprise dans les billets pour l'Acropole d'Athènes.

Athènes : Billet pour l'Acropole et entrée au Parthénon

Billets mobiles
Durée flexible
Audioguide
En savoir plus +

Billet d'Athènes : Acropole et 6 sites avec visites audio

Validité prolongée
Billets mobiles
Durée flexible
Audioguide
En savoir plus +

Athènes : billets pour l'Acropole et le musée avec trois visites audio

Annulation gratuite
Billets mobiles
Durée flexible
Audioguide
En savoir plus +

Acropole : Visite guidée avec entrée coupe-file

Annulation gratuite
Confirmation immédiate
Billets mobiles
2 h
Visite guidée
En savoir plus +

Pourquoi le temple d'Athéna Nikè à Athènes a-t-il été construit ?

Le temple d'Athéna Nikè est la plus petite structure de l'Acropole d'Athènes. Il a été construit pour honorer Athéna Nikè, la déesse de la victoire. Il a été construit sur les vestiges d'un premier temple d'Athéna datant du VIème siècle qui avait été démoli par les Perses en 480 av J.-C.. Le temple était l'expression des ambitions d'Athènes de vaincre Sparte et de devenir une puissance mondiale. La frise du temple fait référence à la victoire athénienne sur les Perses.

Il a été conçu par Kallikrates, qui était chargé de la construction du Parthénon. Le temple d'Athéna Nike a été achevé vers 420 avant Jésus-Christ.

Nikè et Athéna Nikè

temple athena nike

Qui était la déesse Nikè ?

Selon la mythologie grecque, Nikè était la déesse de la victoire. Elle est la fille de Pallas le Titan et de Styx. Nikè et ses frères et sœurs étaient des compagnons proches de Zeus. Elle a souvent été représentée dans l'art comme une sculpture miniature dans la main d'Athéna et de Zeus.

Les sculptures de Nikè étaient extrêmement courantes dans la Grèce antique. Elles étaient souvent utilisées pour symboliser ou commémorer des victoires, tant à la guerre que dans des compétitions. Elle apparaît également sur les pièces de monnaie grecques. Elle est souvent représentée avec des ailes.

temple athena nike

Qui était la déesse Athéna ?

Athéna était une déesse grecque et la fille de Zeus. Elle était vénérée comme la déesse de la guerre, de la sagesse, de l'artisanat et de la cuisine. Elle était également la protectrice d'Athènes.

Athéna et Athéna Nikè sont-elles la même personne ?

Pallas Athéna est la représentation de la déesse en tant que guerrière et Athéna Nikè est la représentation de la déesse en tant que victorieuse à la guerre. Nikè, souvent appelée la Victoire ailée, était un attribut d'Athéna, et apparaît largement dans les récits mythologiques comme une compagne et une aide de Zeus ou d'Athéna.

Horaires du temple d'Athéna Nikè

Été : de 8 h à 18 h (dernière entrée à 17 h 30).
Hiver: de 8 h à 17 h.

En savoir plus >

Où se trouve le temple d'Athéna Nikè à Athènes ?

L'histoire du Temple d'Athéna en bref

Au VIème siècle avant J.-C., après l'établissement d'un culte d'Athéna Nikè à Athènes, un petit temple a été construit à l'aide de fortifications mycéniennes et de maçonnerie cyclopéenne. Pendant les guerres perses, le temple a été démoli par les Perses.

Le nouveau temple fut construit à sa place. La construction du temple a été achevée vers 420 avant notre ère. Au Vème siècle de notre ère, le temple a été transformé en église chrétienne. Il est resté debout pendant près de 2000 ans puis a été démoli par les Turcs en 1686. Les Turcs ont utilisé les pierres du temple pour construire des défenses contre les Vénitiens. En 1834, après l'indépendance de la Grèce (1821), le temple a été reconstruit.

Dans les années 1930, le temple a été démantelé dans le cadre de rénovations. Les archéologues pensaient qu'il y avait des défauts dans la reconstruction précédente. Ils ont été restaurés en 2010. La construction actuelle du temple est considérée comme la plus proche de l'original, bien que certaines pierres, reliefs et sections du parapet, ainsi que sa frise, aient été perdus ou se trouvent maintenant au musée de l'Acropole et au British Museum.

Incontournables du temple d'Athéna Nikè

temple athena nike

Dieux et batailles sur frise

Le temple d'Athéna Nikè présentait une frise ionique continue. Sur le côté oriental, elle présentait une assemblée de dieux, tandis que sur le mur sud, une bataille entre les Grecs et les Perses était représentée. Les autres côtés faisaient référence à des batailles entre les Grecs et d'autres guerriers. On suppose que les frontons comportaient des sculptures illustrant la bataille épique de la Gigantomachie entre les dieux du mont Olympe et les géants et l'Amazonomachie, une bataille entre les Grecs et les Amazones.

temple athena nike

Reliefs de la déesse Nikè

Vers 410 avant J.-C., un parapet a été ajouté tout autour pour servir de garde-fou et empêcher les gens de tomber du bastion escarpé. L'extérieur du parapet a été minutieusement décoré à l'aide de sculptures en relief. Contrairement aux frises, ces reliefs ne décrivent pas une histoire, mais montrent plutôt Nikè dans diverses activités et toujours en procession. Le plus célèbre d'entre eux est celui de Nikè ajustant sa sandale. Nikè ajustant sa sandale et des parties de la frise peuvent être admirées aujourd'hui au musée de l'Acropole.

temple athena nike

Statue d'Athéna Nikè

En tant que temple, dédié à Nikè, il abritait une statue d'Athéna Nikè dans la cella ou naos, la chambre intérieure d'un temple. D'après l'écrivain grec Pausanias, la statue a été réalisée en bois et est représentée tenant un casque dans la main gauche et un grenadier (symbole de fertilité) dans la main droite. Nikè, qui avait habituellement des ailes, était représentée sans, ce qui lui valut son nom d'Athéna Apteros (sans ailes). On pense que la statue d'Athéna n'avait pas d'ailes, afin qu'elle ne puisse jamais quitter Athènes.

Architecture du temple d'Athéna Nikè

temple athena nike

Le temple d'Athéna Nikè est une structure à quatre colonnes (tétrastyle) en raison de sa petite taille. Les colonnes sont monolithiques. La structure possède des portiques à colonnades sur les façades avant et arrière, mais pas sur les côtés. Les colonnes le long des façades est et ouest étaient des colonnes monolithiques. Le temple mesure 8 mètres de long, 5,5 mètres de large et 7 mètres de haut, et a été construit en marbre blanc pentélique. Les colonnes latérales ont des volutes, un rouleau en spirale qui forme la base de l'ordre ionique afin que les gens puissent profiter de la vue depuis n'importe quel angle. Un autre facteur qui distingue le temple d'Athéna Nikè est le fait que les colonnes du temple ne sont pas aussi fines que celles des autres bâtiments ioniques. Il est possible que cette décision ait été prise car le temple d'Athéna Nikè se trouve juste à côté des Propylées. Le temple étant le plus petit de tous les temples de la colline, le placer à côté de la lourde porte monumentale l'aurait fait paraître trop insignifiant en comparaison.

Temple of Athena Nike

Temple of Athena Nike | Acropolis of Athens

The Temple of Athena Nike, built entirely of Pentelic marble between 427 and 421 BC, stands on a 6-meter high stone platform extending from the southwest corner of the Acropolis. The temple was the first Ionic structure to be built on the Acropolis. It is dedicated to Nike, a form of Athena, who is believed to be the goddess of Victory in Greek mythology.

What is the Temple of Athena Nike?

Temple of Athena Nike, Acropolis of Athens, Greece
  • The Temple of Athena Nike, located on the southeast edge of the Acropolis of Athens, was a temple designed by architect Kallikrates and built between 426-421 BC.
  • The temple stands on the grounds of earlier temples that were also dedicated to Athena Nike, the foundations of and altars of which are preserved inside the bastion under the floor of the structure.
  • The temple is a small Ionic amphiprostyle structure with four monolithic columns on either short side.
Know More About Acropolis
Book Acropolis Athens and Temple of Athena Nike Tickets.
Temple of Athena Nike entry is included with Acropolis Athens tickets.

Athens Acropolis Skip the Line Tickets with Parthenon Entry

Flexible Entry
Skip the Line
Mobile Tickets
Instant Confirmation
Optional Audio Guide
More Details +

Skip-the-Line Athens Acropolis, Temple of Zeus & Agora Tickets

Duration: 3 hrs 10 min
Mobile Tickets
Instant Confirmation
More Details +
€36.50

Acropolis Guided Tour With Skip-the-line Entry

Duration: 2 Hrs
Mobile Ticket
Instant Confirmation
Guided Tour
Free Cancellation
More Details +

Early Access Guided Tour to the Acropolis of Athens

Duration: 3.5 Hrs
Skip the Line
Mobile Tickets
Guided Tour
Audio Guide
Free Cancellation
More Details +
€31.50

Why was the Temple of Athena Nike in Athens Built?

The Temple of Athena Nike is the smallest structure on the Athenian Acropolis. It was built to honor Athena Nike, the goddess of victory. It was built over the remains of an earlier sixth-century temple to Athena that had been demolished by the Persians in 480 BC. The temple was an expression of Athens’ ambitions to defeat Sparta and become a world power. The frieze of the temple refers to Athenian victory over the Persians.

It was designed by Kallikrates, who was responsible for the construction of the Parthenon. The Temple of Athena Nike was finished around 420 BC.

Nike vs Athena Nike

Goddess Nike, Acropolis of Athens

Who was Goddess Nike?

As per Greek mythology, Noke was the goddess of victory. She is the daughter of Titan Pallas as Styx. Nike and her siblings were close companions of Zeus. She has often been depicted in art as a miniature sculpture in the hand of Athena and Zeus.

Sculptures of Nike were extremely common in Ancient Greece. Her sculpture often was used to symbolize or commemorate victories, both, in war and competitions. She also appears on Greek coins. She is often depicted with wings.

Goddess Athena Nike, Temple of Athena Nike

Who is Goddess Athena?

Athena was a Greek goddess and the daughter of Zeus. She was worshiped as the goddess of warfare, wisdom, crafts, and cooking. She was also the patron of Athens.

Are Athena and Athena Nike the same?

While Pallas Athena is the representation of the goddess as a warrior and Athena Nike is the representation of the goddess as victorious in war. Nike, often referred to as Winged Victory, was an attribute of Athena, and largely appears in mythological stories as a companion and helper of Zeus or Athena.

Temple of Athena Nike Opening Hours

Summer: 8 AM to 6 PM (Last entrance to the Site at 5:30 PM)
Winter: 8 AM to 5 PM

Know More >

Where is the Temple of Athena Nike Located in Athens?

Address: Acropolis, Dionysiou Areopagitou, Athina 105 58, Greece

Find On Map

The Athena Nike temple is one of the smallest, yet prominent temples within the Acropolis of Athens, an ancient citadel that sits atop the city of Athens. You will find the Temple of Athena Nike on the southwest corner of the hill.

Get Directions

History of Temple of Athena In A Nutshell

In the sixth century BCE, after a cult of Athena Nike was established in Athens, a small temple was built using Mycenaean fortification and Cyclopean masonry. During the Persian Wars, the temple was demolished by the Persians.

The new temple was built in its place. The construction of the temple was completed around 420 BCE. In the 5th century C.E. the temple was converted into a Christian church. The temple stood for almost 2,00 years. It was demolished by the Turks in 1686. The Turks used the stones from the temple to build defenses against the Venetians. In 1834, following the independence of Greece (1821), the temple was reconstructed.

In the 1930s the temple was dismantled as part of renovations. Archeologists believed that there were flaws in the earlier reconstruction and were restored in 2010. The present temple construction is considered to be the closest to the original although some stones, reliefs, and sections of the parapet, and its frieze have been lost or are now in the Acropolis Museum and the British Museum.

Temple of Athena Nike Highlights

Temple of Athena Nike

Gods & Battle on Frieze

The temple of Athena Nike featured a continuous Ionic frieze. On the eastern side, it showcased a gathering of gods, while on the southern wall, a battle between Greeks and Persians was depicted. The remaining sides referred to battles between Greeks and other warriors. It is assumed that the pediments featured sculptures that showcased the epic battle of Gigantomachy between the gods of Mount Olympus and the Giants and Amazonomachy, a battle between the Greeks and the Amazons.

Temple of Athena Nike

Reliefs of Goddess Nike

Around 410 BC a parapet was added around it to act as a guardrail and prevent people from falling from the steep bastion. The outside of the parapet was elaborately decorated using carved relief sculptures. Unlike the friezes, these reliefs don't depict a story, but rather shows Nike in a variety of activities and all in procession. Of these, the most famous one is that of Nike Adjusting Her Sandal. Both Nike Adjusting Her Sandal and parts of the frieze can be admired today at the Acropolis Museum.

Temple of Athena Nike

Statue of Athena Nike

As a temple, dedicated to Nike, it housed a statue of Athena Nike in the cella or naos, the inner chamber of a temple. According to the Greek writer Pausanias, the statue was made using wood, and was shown holding a helmet in her left hand, and a pomogranate (the symbol of fertility) in her right. Nike, who usually had wings, was decpicted without any, helping it gain its name, Athena Apteros (without wings). It is believed that statue of Athena had no wings, so that she could never leave Athens.

Architecture of the Temple of Athena Nike

Architecture, Temple of Athena Nike

The Temple of Athena Nike is a four-column (tetrastyle) structure because of its small size. The columns are monolithic. The structure has colonnaded porticos at the front and rear facades, but not on the sides. The columns along the east and west fronts were monolithic columns. The temple ran 8 meters long, 5.5 meters wide, and 7 meters tall, and was constructed using white Pentelic marble. The side columns have volutes, a spiral scroll that forms the base of the lonic order so that people would be able to enjoy the view from any angle. Another factor that sets apart the Temple of Athena Nike is the fact that the columns of the temple are not as slender as other Ionic buildings. It is possible that the decision to do so was made as the temple of Athena Nike stands just next to the Propylaea. Considering the temple is the smallest one among all the temples on the hill, placing it next to the heavy, monumental gateway would have made it look too insignificant in comparison.